Facebook: IndianOlympicTeam

 Indian Olympic Bhawan, B-29, Qutub Institutional Area, New Dehli - 110016, India
Phone: + (91) 11 2685 2481

Dr P.T. Usha
Secretary General: Rajeev Mehta

The Republic of India joined the Commonwealth during 1947 on attaining independence and have been to fifteen Commonwealth Games, their first Games being in the second edition in 1934.

The National Olympic Committee of India was formed and recognised during 1927 and is responsible for organising India's participation in both the Commonwealth Games and Commonwealth Youth Games.

India underpinned its status as an emerging power in world sport with an outstanding 69 medal haul in Manchester in 2002, 50 in Melbourne in 2006 and an incredible 101 medals when they hosted the XIX Commonwealth Games in Delhi between 3rd - 14th October 2010. Of these medals won on home soil, 39 were gold, 26 silver and 36 bronze. The Indian city of Pune hosted the Commonwealth Youth Games in 2008.