Instagram: thenzteam
Facebook: The NZ Team
LinkedIn: New Zealand Olympic Committee
YouTube: The NZ Team
TikTok: thenzteam

Location: Olympic House, 350 Parnell Road, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand 
Postal Address: PO Box 37-774, Parnell, Auckland 1151
Phone: +64 9 375 0040

Liz Dawson
Secretary General: Nicki Nicol
Public Affairs and Communications Director: Ashley Abbott (


New Zealand joined the Commonwealth in 1931 under the Statute of Westminster. This South Pacific nation is made up of two large islands (North and South Islands), Stewart Island and a number of offshore islands too.

The Maori name for New Zealand is Aotearoa, 'Land of the Long White Cloud', and the Kiwis (as they are commonly known) have competed in every Commonwealth Games since 1930, one of six nations to hold this distinction.

New Zealand have also hosted the Commonwealth Games on three occasions; 1950, 1974 and 1990. The latter Games in Auckland produced 58 medals for the host nation, 17 of which were gold.

The Kiwis made history in 1998 when they won the first ever Commonwealth Games Rugby Seven's gold medal by defeating Fiji in the final. It is a feat they have repeated at every Games since, except Glasgow 2014. The Kiwis still took home 45 medals from Glasgow, their best ever overseas Games performance (including 14 golds).

The New Zealand Olympic Committee (NZOC) was founded on 18 October 1911 in Wellington and recognised by the International Olympic Committee on 5 April 1919. They are responsible for the country's participation in the Commonwealth Games and Commonwealth Youth Games.