Women’s Leadership Programme

The Commonwealth Sport Women's Leadership Program is a comprehensive initiative aimed at supporting and empowering women from the Commonwealth on their personal development journeys towards becoming influential leaders and agents of change in the field of sports.

Who is it for?

The program is open to all female leaders in the sports industry, including coaches, administrators, executives, officials, and others, who demonstrate a need for support and show a commitment to promoting equality within their communities and the Commonwealth Sport Movement.

What does the programme provide?

The program offers scholarships of £5,000 to eligible female leaders to provide financial assistance on their individual development pathways. It is designed to provide a supportive and educational environment with mentorship so the CGF connects recipients with an International Mentor who helps them clarify leadership aspirations, recognize strengths, and broaden understanding of promoting equality within the sports community.

What does success look like?

Success in the Commonwealth Sport Women's Leadership Program is measured by the growth and development of each participant towards becoming an influential leader and agent of change, promoting equality in the sports community and beyond. The program is designed to help participants reach their full potential and create a brighter future for women in the Commonwealth.


In 2018, a Commonwealth Women’s Internship Programme was launched by the CGF at the 2018 Commonwealth Games that allowed CGA's to integrate a female coach into their respective management team. 20 female coaches were appointed and attended the Games as part of their national team. They were also provided with mentorship support and professional development and networking opportunities in the lead up to, during and after the Games. The successes of this programme lead to the development of the scholarships Grants offered in 2022 and 2023.


02:15 BST
Back to top